Insanity: Minors in California Banned from Using Tanning Beds, but Sexually Transmitted Disease Treatment or Abortions without Parents’ Knowledge Is OK
Posted By Vicki McClure Davidson on October 10, 2011
Only in California is it perfectly acceptable for minors to get abortions without parental knowledge or consent, for 12-year-olds to be treated for sexually transmitted diseases without parental knowledge, but to be banned from using tanning beds, even with parental consent.
Californians, you voted for ultra-liberal Jerry Brown for governor. You reap what you sow.
California Gov. Jerry Brown signed into law Sunday a bill that prohibits most teenagers from getting bronzed in tanning beds, making the Golden State the first to do so.
State Sen. Ted Lieu said he first tried, and failed, in 2007 to make it illegal for people between the ages of 14 and 18 to walk into a facility and use ultraviolet beds to tan. Four years later, his effort finally paid off.
“I feel great,” Lieu told CNN of the bill’s passage. “I believe it will help save lives and prevent unnecessary suffering.”
Previously, those between 14 and 18 could use tanning beds if they had a parent or legal guardian’s permission. That is no longer allowed, though the use of “a phototherapy device … used by or under the direct supervision of a qualified physician or surgeon” and certain services offered at tanning facilities, like spray tans, are still legal for young people.
While most states regulate how minors can use tanning facilities, California’s recently enacted restrictions go further than any other state, according to the National Conference of State Legislatures. Some counties also address the issue, with the same organization noting that Howard County, Maryland, was the first jurisdiction to ban indoor tanning for all under age 18.
From Reuters, California bans use of tanning beds by minors:
Minors in the state of California will no longer be allowed to use tanning beds after Governor Jerry Brown signed a bill on Sunday prohibiting anyone under the age of 18 from using ultraviolet tanning devices.
California is the first state in the nation to ban minors from using tanning beds, legislators said.
Previously, California had banned minors under the age of 14 from using tanning beds, but allowed those between 14 and 18 years of age to use tanning beds with parental consent.
The bill was part of a cluster of legislation signed on Sunday designed to “improve the health and well-being of Calfornians,” according to a statement from the Governor’s office.
“I praise Gov. Brown for his courage in taking this much-needed step to protect some of California’s most vulnerable residents — our kids — from what the ‘House of Medicine’ has conclusively shown is lethally dangerous: ultraviolet-emitting radiation from tanning beds,” the bill’s sponsor, state Senator Ted Lieu, said in a statement.
“If everyone knew the true dangers of tanning beds, they’d be shocked. Skin cancer is a rising epidemic and the leading cause of cancer death for women between 25 and 29.”
From PolitiCal, New law lets 12-year-olds consent to preventive care for STDs:
California Gov. Jerry Brown stepped into the middle of a debate over parental rights Sunday by signing legislation giving children 12 or older the power to consent to medical care involving the prevention of sexually transmitted disease.
Asssemblywoman Toni Atkins (D-San Diego) sponsored AB 499 with the aim of providing young people with timely preventative treatment, including the human papillomavirus [HPV] vaccine that proponents say can reduce the risk of certain cancers, precancerous cervical cell changes and genital warts.
The measure was backed by groups including the California STD Controllers Assn., the Health Officers Assn. of California, ACT for Women and Girls and the American Civil Liberties Union.
The bill was opposed by the California Catholic Conference, which opposed previous measures that allow minors to consent to certain treatments without the involvement of parents.
That group wrote to legislators that “this bill is dangerous because it expands a faulty law which assumes that children know better than their parents and because it will allow minors access to HPV vaccines which may cause them permanent harm.”
Gov. Jerry Brown tackled a cluster of bills Sunday, among them a law that will now allow minors to get vaccinated for sexually transmitted diseases without their parents’ consent.
Authored by Assemblywoman Toni Atkins (D-San Diego), AB499 will let minors as young as 12 the power to seek medical treatment for the human papillomavirus, which has been linked to certain cancers, precancerous cervical cell changes and genital warts.
The HPV vaccine consists of a series of three injections over a six-month period.
The CDC has recently recommended that girls begin treatment as young as 11 in order to increase the likelihood of vaccination before having sexual contact.
Under the new bill, minors will also be allowed to receive other STD prevention treatments.
California now joins a list of states embroiled in a national debate over child vaccinations, including Texas, where Governor and presidential hopeful Rick Perry has recently taken criticism for attempting to pass a similar law in 2007.